Skip to content
Curtin University

Unit Lifecycle

Open University Australia (OUA) units follow an alternate unit lifecycle.
Click here to view the OUA unit lifecycle

Lifecycle for all Teaching Units except for OUA

1. Automatic importing of students into a Teaching Unit (not OUA)

  • Once a Unit is created, it will remain in OLAS/Blackboard until it is manually deleted.
  • Students will be automatically imported into Blackboard instances 14 days prior to the commencement of an availability's study period start-date in a Disabled state. As such, they will NOT be able to view the Unit, but staff will be able to view them. This facilitates group allocation and other administrative tasks prior to students accessing the unit.
  • 7 days prior to the commencement of the availability's study period start-date, students will be changed from a disabled to an Enabled state. They will now be able to see the Blackboard instance in which they are enrolled.

2. Automatic removal of students from a Teaching Unit (not OUA)

  • 14 days after an availability's study period ends, all students are automatically Disabled from the Blackboard instance.
  • An email notification is sent to the Unit Coordinator warning them that this will take place, and advising how to re-enable students who require further access.
  • The Unit Coordinator may re-enable students, as may be necessary if supplementary exams need to be sat, etc.
  • 28 days after the availability's study period ends, all Disabled students are automatically Removed from the Blackboard instance.
  • An email notification is sent to the Unit Coordinator the day before student removal warning them that this will take place, and advising how to re-enable students who require further access.

Unit Lifecycle Diagram

Important NoteIt is highly recommended that you download a copy of your Grade Center BEFORE students are removed from the Unit.

See the Blackboard housekeeping section of this website for a tip sheet of how to download student grades.

Lifecycle for OUA Teaching Units

Automatic importing of students into an OUA Teaching Units

  • Once a Unit is created, it will remain in OLAS/Blackboard until it is manually deleted.
  • Students will be automatically imported into Blackboard instances 7 days prior to the commencement of an availability's study period start-date in a Disabled state. As such, they will NOT be able to view the Unit, but staff will be able to view them. This facilitates group allocation and other administrative tasks prior to students accessing the unit.
  • 20 hours prior to the commencement of the availability's study period start-date, students will be changed from a disabled to an Enabled state. They will now be able to see the Blackboard instance in which they are enrolled.

Automatic removal of students from an OUA Blackboard Teaching Instance

  • 28 days after an availability's study period ends, all students are automatically disabled from the Blackboard instance.
  • An email notification is sent to the Unit Coordinator warning them that this will take place, and advising how to re-enable students who require further access.
  • The Unit Coordinator may re-enable students, as may be necessary if supplementary exams need to be sat, etc.
  • 42 days after the availability's study period ends, all disabled students are automatically removed from the Blackboard instance.
  • An email notification is sent to the Unit Coordinator they day before student removal warning them that this will take place, and advising how to re-enable students who require further access

OUA Unit Lifecycle Diagram

Lifecycle for all Non-Teaching Units

  • Once a Blackboard instance is created, it will remain in OLAS/Blackboard until it is manually deleted.
  • Non-Teaching units are NOT automatically made available in Blackboard. To make a Non-Teaching Unit viewable to students in Blackboard, use the Show Unit functionality in the Unit Management Console.
  • All students who are provisioned into the Unit via a Course code or an Availability, or are uploaded via a Class List will continually see the unit, unless the unit is hidden, deleted, or they are removed from the unit manually.

Contact LTS support if you have any queries or concerns.

back top